DPM 2012 SP1 Exchange Job Failed

Today I upgraded one of my branches DPM 2012 evaluation to SP1. After upgrading all agents I ran consistency checks and all passed except one, Exchange. The server gave the following error:

“Cannot create a recovery point because of a transient problem. (ID 215 Details: VssError: The shadow copy provider had an error. Check the System and Application event logs for more information. (0x80042306))

So the first thing I did was check the writers from a command prompt on the problem server, all good. I then ran Windows Update and RU2 for DPM was available. I installed this rollup, rebooted the server and then upgraded all the Agents again.

After this I ran a consistency check and it returned with an OK status now.

Hope it helps

Leave a Reply

