CRM Dynamics 2011 on Windows Server 2012 R2

Today I tested an upgraded on my CRM system running server 2012. I first upgraded CRM Dynamics 2011 to RU15, after that I did a restart.

I ran the upgrade from Server 2012 to Server 2012 R2 (Note that CRM Dynamics 2011 is not supported on Server 2012 R2)
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2669061

After the upgrade IIS issued an error saying that the WSS service was disabled as the server is running IIS 7.5 and not IIS 7.0.

When I checked my site was gone. No sweat, I navigated to the CRM Dynamics folder under programs files and ran the ServerSetup. It gave me 3 options, I chose repair and pointed to the install files. After it had finished I did an IISReset and navigated to the CRM URL only to be met with the following error:

“HTTP Error 500.19 – Internal Server Error

The requested page cannot be accessed because the related configuration
data for the page is invalid.

`Detailed Error Information`
Module IIS Web Core
Notification Unknown
Handler Not yet determined
Error Code 0x8007000d
Config Error
Config File \\?\C:\wwwroot\web.config
Requested URL http://localhost:80/Default.aspx
Physical Path
Logon Method Not yet determined
Logon User Not yet determined
Config Source
-1:
0:”

Quick check, IIS 7.0 uses the URL Rewrite Module and IIS 7.5 does not. I downloaded the file (http://www.microsoft.com/en-za/download/details.aspx?id=7435) and ran the install, did an IIS reset and went back and CRM Dynamics 2011 was now running fully on Windows Server 2012 R2. 

Hope it helps.

Leave a Reply

